DiG – John 21

Read: v11 So Simon Peter went aboard and hauled the net ashore, full of large fish, 153 of them. And although there were so many, the net was not torn.
Observe: The disciples did not have any fishes at first but when Jesus came, there were more than enough. “FULL of LARGE fishes and the net was NOT torn” goes to show that God provides and when He provides, He does not give just nice but an overflowing amount, as long as you believe in Him.
Application: Through my application for DTS, I have been worrying about finances, worrying about church application, worrying about everything that can come my way, even the food I may eat there. This verse spoke to me very LOUDLY that God provides and when He provides, you will be satisfied. This outpouring of His overflowing love and grace is all that I need. He has called me into this area and all I have to do is what Jesus said on verse 19 “Follow me”.
Do: FOLLOW HIM.
Read v15: When they had finished breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Feed my lambs.” 16 He said to him a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Tend my sheep.” 17 He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” Peter was grieved because he said to him the third time, “Do you love me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything; you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Feed my sheep.
Observe: Do you love me? Why did Jesus ask this question three times and hear the same answer over and over again? Jesus knew that feeding His sheep is a long and tiring process. His disciples had to love Jesus first and with that overflowing love, love His sheep. People (sheep) are really time consuming and emotionally draining. People have their own individual demands and mentality and so getting to know a person and ministering to a person, is a tiring process. Jesus knew that this will be the case, and feeding His sheep can get His disciples jaded and burnt. Therefore, He wants His disciples to love Him from the very bottom of their heart and thus, the question, do you love me.
Application: When I served in Youth, I felt very worn out, very jaded with the youths. I didn’t feel the urge to continue feeding them; maybe because at that point, I did not truly know Jesus’s heart for His sheep, I did not love Jesus with my whole heart. Making the decision to step out of my comfort zone, to leave the marketplace and going into full time ministry is not an easy decision. I felt I could not worship if I do not give in to God’s love and bring His love to His people, His sheep.
Do: Remember your baptism and be thankful. Remember your testimony and your first love and how Jesus has brought you to where you are.

Leave a Reply

