DiG John 13

Read John 13:

V10 –  Jesus answered, “Those who have had a bath need only to wash their feet; their whole body is clean. And you are clean, though not every one of you.

Observe: We shower every day. It is not like it is a commandment to shower but we shower because we want to be clean, we want to feel refresh and because it is hygienic. In Jesus context, shower would mean cleansing of sin and it means cleansing of sin daily. Links back to the point where He said that whoever wants to be His disciple must deny themselves, take up their cross DAILY and follow Him. God knows that human have their sinful nature and even though you may follow him on day 1, day 4 you may not choose to follow Him but that’s His grace upon your life because His mercies are new every morning.

V34 and 35 – “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

Observe: This is a very typical camp theme verse to spur one another on to love others who are difficult to love in school or at work. Yet today I ask myself what does it mean to love radically? I think to love radically is to love even if your audience does not reciprocate, to love even despite fear of rejection, fear of shame.

Nobody can attain this kind of textbook answer, where we just go out there to LOVE. I think right now the kind of love that I want to love one another is to share God’s love to the people who have not known Him. I grew up not liking the thought of evangelism but somehow I feel the urge to evangelize to others, to show them who God is through my words and deeds. That itself is not easy. To love despite the fear of rejection or shame especially with your community of cool kids who think that talking about religion ain’t cool. Or going to church isn’t the most happening thing to do on a weekend. If Jesus wants to share about love to His disciples even at the hour of His death, to teach them humility and servant-hood, then I think that is a pretty important thing that we need to pay attention to. Which god will humble him/herself to wash the feet of their believers? Most gods are high up on the altar. Yet our God came down as man to teach us love, humility and servant-hood.

Application: The constant reminder to deny myself, to remind myself that it is not my will but God’s will be done. Even when I don’t feel like being nice to my nasty co-worker who bad mouthed about me, or when I feel like this person does not deserve my kindness… it is where God shows me more of His commandment to love one another. To apply a very cliché but important question: “What would Jesus do?”


So, I was doing the usual DiG yesterday night and struggled to acknowledge the application that was mentioned above.

Today at work, I felt very mistreated. I shall explain myself. So I told myself to be a good steward even at my workplace and thus, I told my management that I will be leaving so they can find a replacement and then handover will be smooth, I am able to help the new girl in the transition to her new job. Little did I know that I will be stripped from my workload and given a very humbling role of ‘sai kang warrior’. To me, I want to make sure that I complete filing my entire BOX of personnel data, my entire file of records to be keyed in blah blah so the other girl won’t have to do it. What I don’t like is that people TELL me I HAVE to do it or tell me what to do in a condescending manner.

I got upset, took my phone and spent downtime in the cubicle. I know my stubborn self well enough to know that I will do things on purpose to spike or to not do something they tell me to… just because. While I was playing candy crush (what a brilliant game), I felt the Lord telling me that whatever I wrote in my application portion, is what I should be doing: denying myself for Christ.
The game ended and I was like “God!!!!!! But but but…”
and I felt God saying “but what? Exemplify LOVE to the unlovable whether they know it or not”

URGH so I prayed a short prayer and went back to the office in a slightly more humbled heart, I prayed “God, I cannot do this on my own. My nature is to rebel so change my heart and make it ever new”

The FRUIT of the spirit is a WHOLE fruit. You cannot have gentleness but lack patience and so whatever you lack, God will bring you circumstances to mould that area. Meh.

Leave a Reply

