DiG John 12

I didn’t expect this to be so lengthy:

Read
V3: “Then Mary took about a pint of pure nard, an expensive perfume; she poured it on Jesus’ feet and wiped his feet with her hair. And the house was filled with the fragrance of the perfume.”

V7- 8: “Leave her alone,” Jesus replied. “It was intended that she should save this perfume for the day of my burial.  You will always have the poor among you, but you will not always have me.”

Observe:
Here, we see Mary pouring out something that is a year’s wages on Jesus feet, instead of selling it for profit. It shows how much Mary is willing to trade worldly treasures for Jesus. Using her hair to wipe his feet shows the servanthood and that she respects and adores this King that she wants to serve Him with her all. What Mary sees in Jesus and what Judas saw in Jesus is probably what Christians vs the World. Christians who are devoted to Jesus want to give their all to Jesus but the world look at us and jeer us. Like for what?!??!

When Jesus said in verse 7 and 8, “you will always have the poor among you but you will not always have me” shows that He knows His time is coming. Trading the world for Jesus is probably what He is saying. Discipleship is a choice, it is a commitment. It is like marriage. I want to marry this person, whether or not the feeling goes away, I will still choose to love him/her. In the same way, discipleship, whether your relationship with God is on the high where you feel His presence so strong or whether your relationship with God is on the low where you ask… ‘is God there?’ you still choose to pick up your cross and follow Him.

The verse speaks very strongly on the fact that poor is always among us but Christ isn’t. So it is a pursuit of Christ. If you stop, the relationship will deteriorate and you will let sin overcome. We will never grow closer to God when we just live life. It takes deliberate pursuit and attentiveness to see what God is doing in our lives.

Read V35 – 36:
“Then Jesus told them, “You are going to have the light just a little while longer. Walk while you have the light, before darkness overtakes you. Whoever walks in the dark does not know where they are going. Believe in the light while you have the light, so that you may become children of light.”

Observe:

‘Before darkness overtakes you’ – every step of the way, darkness is following you. If you choose to let your guard down, darkness overtakes. Satan just wants you to let your guard down and the moment you do so, he doesn’t have to do anything, he just walks over you in DARKNESS. That is very scary. I imagine myself walking in an alley with a light beam over me. Before me are 2 roads. If I take the long and narrow road, the light will continue to shine but the moment I take the short cut, it is pitch black and I cannot see where I am going.

Read v42 – 50
“Yet at the same time many even among the leaders believed in him. But because of the Pharisees they would not openly acknowledge their faith for fear they would be put out of the synagogue; for they loved human praise more than praise from God.

Then Jesus cried out, “Whoever believes in me does not believe in me only, but in the one who sent me. The one who looks at me is seeing the one who sent me. I have come into the world as a light, so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness.

“If anyone hears my words but does not keep them, I do not judge that person. For I did not come to judge the world, but to save the world. There is a judge for the one who rejects me and does not accept my words; the very words I have spoken will condemn them at the last day. For I did not speak on my own, but the Father who sent me commanded me to say all that I have spoken. I know that his command leads to eternal life. So whatever I say is just what the Father has told me to say.””

Observe:
This is going back to the topic of spiritual blindness which I feel very strongly for. God is a merciful judge. He only condemns those who reject Him. Yet in His grace and mercy, He will save them when they have reached the point of repentance. Mercy triumphs over judgment, and He loves His children and is compassionate and kind. This warms my heart to know that there is hope in the promise of the cross that my love ones who have yet to know Him still has time, still has that point of repentance.

On a random note, I received free TuTu kueh (: hehe my heart and tumtum is warm with happy local food (+ point, its free! #kiasuanuty)

Leave a Reply

