DiG Exodus 31 and John 10

DiG comprises of both Old Testament and New Testament but I have been more inclined towards the New Testament. Rather, I observe more from the context of the New Testament in my world today. However, when my friend and I did today’s reading, as usual I focused on the New Testament but the Old Testament spoke to me when he sent me his reading. (does that make sense?) I will share his observation and my add on from the Old Testament and also my observation from the New Testament.

Exodus 31
Read:
V 2-6 “See, I have called by name Bezalel the son of Uri, the son of Hur, of the tribe of Judah. 3 And I have filled him with the Spirit of God, in wisdom, in understanding, in knowledge, and in all manner of workmanship, to design artistic works, to work in gold, in silver, in bronze, in cutting jewels for setting, in carving wood, and to work in all manner of workmanship.

“And I, indeed I, have appointed with him Aholiab the son of Ahisamach, of the tribe of Dan; and I have put wisdom in the hearts of all the gifted artisans, that they may make all that I have commanded you.

Observe:
Whatever the field is that God calls us to, He provides all that we need to do the job we were purposed to do. This appointment, to call a person through divine revelation directly into service. And as the Lord calls, He also equips. He graciously gives all manner of wisdom, understanding, knowledge and skill to achieve that which shall glorify Him.

The verse emphasizes that it is not our strength that we rely on but God’s strength because it is He who fills us, to give us the wisdom, understanding and knowledge.

Application:

Many times I feel like “God… I cannot.” Even when I feel that this whole DTS is coming up, God, I cannot. I cannot live on my own, I cannot speak to the underworld ministry, I don’t feel like I am able, equipped or eloquent. Yet this verse spoke so clearly to me that it is not ME but GOD who fills me to give me the wisdom, understanding and knowledge. That made my heart so jiggly to know that God is empowering me every step of the way for His purpose!

John 10

Observe:
Hearing God’s voice is not easy especially with the noise of the world. Yet I think that when Jesus said “the sheep hears his voice and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out” – the voice is not only the literal voice but peace that transcends all understanding.

Read V14 – “I know my own and my own know me”

Observe:
It’s like a close knitted relationship. You know your own family’s pet peeves and you know when/ what will irritate them. This same relationship with your Heavenly Father, it’s so close that you know what irritates Him (rather, angers Him) with your sin.

Application:
I want to know my Shepherd’s heart. To be able to put on His lens to see the things of the world in the same way that He does. I think that is a challenge on its own, to remove my sinful thoughts and nature and seeing life from God’s point of view.

Leave a Reply

