DiG – John 9

hehe (:

Quite obvious that I don’t do this everyday. I am thankful for community to constantly remind me to do my devotions and get me back on track.

Read: John 9
V27- “I have told you already and you would not listen. Why do you want to hear it again?”

Observe:
I feel it is very much like the pre-believers who have heard of who God is and His amazing power but just have not allowed themselves to lay down their pride to follow Him. They know that there is a God but they refuse to believe. That links to V39 – “that those who do not see may see and those who see may become blind”
Those who see may become blind. Blind to what? Spiritual blindness?

Spiritual blindness: bondage, sin and destruction of self. Spiritual blindness has been mentioned many times in the Bible. It is the refusal to acknowledge the authority of God.

Read:
V41 “if you were blind you would have no guilt but now that you say you see your guilt remains”

Observe:
Those people in the unknown parts of the world, they have not heard the good news. It does not mean that they have not been saved. It just means that the good news has not reached them. The earlier part of the verse speaks of these people who have not been healed from spiritual blindness. It does not mean they are sin- less but that they just have no knowledge of what they are doing. But the latter speaks of the people who have heard the gospel but have rejected it. Your guilt remains.

Application: pray for salvation and for spiritual sight for friends and family. I think it is painful for me to know that there are people close to me, who know who God is but refuse to acknowledge His sovereignty over their lives. They know a God exist but they recognize that they are in control of their own lives and God is just another religion to them, instead of an intimate relationship. I think that hurts me because of their hardened heart and that I do not know how to help them find God again, I do not know what I can do to build that bridge for Jesus to walk to their heart.

My friend was sharing with me his view on John 9, which I will share here:

Read v30-33:
The man answered and said to them, “Why, this is a marvelous thing, that you do not know where He is from; yet He has opened my eyes! Now we know that God does not hear sinners; but if anyone is a worshiper of God and does His will, He hears him. Since the world began it has been unheard of that anyone opened the eyes of one who was born blind. If this Man were not from God, He could do nothing.”

Observe:
Here we see a man who has been on the receiving end of Jesus’ healing, and here he stands firm, refusing to denounce Jesus, firmly defending Jesus against the Pharisees who would brand Him a sinner.

The once-blind man makes a good point that God hears the words and the prayer of the righteous, and for Jesus to have such power He must surely have the ear of God.

This really comforts me in this time where things might feel a little unfair. Often I pray, and pray, and pray and yet it seems like God doesn’t hear my prayer. At times, I don’t see any fruit to my prayer and my faith begins to waver and I start to believe in the lies crafted by the devil to convince me that God doesn’t listen to me.

Yet, as I am, redeemed by Jesus and covered in His righteousness, I know that God listens to my prayer – and that Jesus Himself intercedes with the Father on my behalf, praying for me.

I felt that his sharing intertwined with mine with the power of unceasing prayer! It is also an encouragement for myself that whenever I feel discourage and sian of being a little Christ, God hears my prayer!

 

Leave a Reply

