Step

It has been long since I sat down to think of what God is doing in my life.

23 August 2016:

A random message from Alicia came by and asked if I am available to go on a tour with her prof to Geylang to learn more about the migrant community and sex trade.

I was a little apprehensive as I wanted to rest at home since it is the only day in the week that I am free. Anyway, I told God that if this is a divine appointment that He convicts me to go for it. Later at night I said yes, I would go for it. In my head, I was scared to go for this alone. Yet I told myself that it is fine to go alone, anyway when I go overseas I will be alone as well.

At the meeting point down to the introduction of the tour, I was excited to see what God has in stored. Despite having gone to Geylang so often for food, prayer walks and random housing checks for my workers, I wanted a new insight to the oppressed area of my country.

We saw places like the red light district, the workers dormitory, the back alleys and even the pimp daddys. As heart wrenching as it is, I feel that greater works are ongoing. Different religious organizations build their temples, mosques and churches… In a way that they believe in doing good & they want people to do good as well. No matter how people see the land as the sacrificial land for these unsightly, inhuman acts are going on, God has not forsaken the place & even the people who are working in the place.

My stand still remains the same that it is only sad because these workers are trapped in the mentality that they need to sell their body in order to get money fast. Maybe it is easier money to ease their debts back home or help their family? Yet in order to break out of this mentality is the most difficult part because it has been part of them. Telling them that they are worthy or once they believe in Christ, their sins are washed clean may sound like a joke to them.

We even saw illegal dealings with sex drugs and these sellers take their items on the run when a raid happens. Things like that, people are earning a living just that it is not the mainstream kinda job that you and I may have.

We visited healthserve! That place really made my heart melt especially since I did a report on these migrant workers and the ill treatment they receive from their employers or even the clinics. Please, if you are medically trained or have a heart for these people, do go down to volunteer (:

Most people may think that the workers loitering around the random areas like grass patch or by the road are perverts. Not many think of it as taking a down time. Even I need my downtime; I can’t have human interactions all the time. I need my space I need to be quiet, that’s when I feel rested. Yet if people chase them away from these places, they have no place to be themselves, they have nowhere to recharge, they will rage and that’s when ugly things happen.

The tour really gave an insight to these things that happen in Geylang and I am really grateful to have the opportunity to be on this trip with fellow Christians. If you want to find out more about them, find them on Facebook – Geylang Adventures (:

6 September 2016

Fuse: It is a privilege to be welcomed home by The Lord and to busk in His presence (: We were asked to write letters from God to us, tuning in to what God has to say to our hearts – I melted.

God loves me so much that He thinks I am worthy. God loves me so much to tell me that I am not walking this journey alone. God loves me so much that He knows my fear and how much I want to go off track and retreat back to my regular sinful life. God loves me so much that despite my struggling and falls, He is still holding me tight. God loves me so much that He tells me that He is enough for me.

Joseph Chien then showed us this photo which was so mind-blowing! Below are the art and its write up:

rembrandt_harmensz-_van_rijn_-_the_return_of_the_prodigal_son_-_father_and_son

The two hands are quite different. The father’s left hand, touching the son’s shoulder, is strong and muscular. The fingers are spread out and cover a large part of the prodigal’s shoulder and back. We can see a certain pressure, especially the thumb. That hand seems not only to touch, but with its strength, also to hold. Even though there is gentleness in the way the father’s left hand touches the son, it is not without a firm grip. How different is the father’s right hand. This hand does not hold or grasp. It is refined, soft, and very tender. The fingers are close to each other and they have an elegant quality. This hand lies gently on the son’s shoulder. It wants to caress, to stroke, and to offer consolation and comfort. It is a mother’s hand.

The father is not simply patriarch. He is mother as well as father. He touches the son with a masculine hand and a feminine hand. He holds and she caresses; he confirms and she consoles…

https://sofie.org/files/pages/attachments/ProdigalTEXT-KH.pdf

The same God from the Old Testament, New Testament is the same God in 2016, in our lives!

24 September 2016

I was asked to be team leader for the upcoming mission trip to Cambodia.

  • I feel so inadequate to be leading a team especially since I do not know much about liaising with the Cambodian NGOs.
  • I hate making decisions. Most of the time I would be afraid of the decisions I make and would seek approval of men to affirm my decisions. Most of the time I fear others talking behind my back that the decisions I make are terrible or that I did not have good foresight of what is to come.
  • The people on this team are mostly older than me. How can someone younger be the team leader?!

Yet after much contemplation, I said yes to the challenge. Actually if the bible verse from Isaiah 5 did not come up during my morning devotion, I wouldn’t have said yes.

 7: But in that day he will cry out,  “I have no remedy. I have no food or clothing in my house; do not make me the leader of the people.”

When I read the following verse, I had peace that it will be well with me!

10 Tell the righteous it will be well with them, for they will enjoy the fruit of their deeds.

I see this opportunity as a training ground for my future missions; I see this as my need to lean on God for strength, wisdom, love and patience; for God to mould me further.

My mentor summed it up pretty well: “It is pressurizing because you look at your own abilities to manage all these. Now move on to realize how much you NEED God”

Hi God, You have gone before me right?

Leave a Reply

