#HushDontSpeak, A Fresh Visual Narrative on the Hearing Impaired

I have been serving the Ministry of Hearing Impaired (MHI) for close to 5 years now. Ministry has had its ups and downs which included many challenges like stepping out of my comfort zone and up on stage, a mission trip to Cambodia and learning another country’s sign language.

Reading sign has been my weakness because different people have their different styles. It is like speaking with different slangs, you have to get used to that style only after constant interaction with that person. Serving in MHI got me to learn to be sensitive to my surroundings, to use facial expressions and gestures in order to bring my message across.

Many people who do not know sign language tend to assume things like ‘sign language is universal”, “once you are deaf, you can’t speak”, “if you are deaf it means that your past life you did something bad”/ “if you are deaf, your offspring will be deaf too” or even “all deaf people sign”.

Most people do not know how to interact with the deaf mainly because they do not know how to sign. I didn’t know how to sign many years back. A notepad and pen became my friend to communicate with my youth and deaf friends.

This photoshoot came up quite randomly, yet ChristabelleBeatrice and Darren had one common language that we spoke: Love. We love the deaf because He first loved them and we wanted to bring about some deaf awareness to those who are keen to find out more. If you would like to find out more about MHI, Wesley Methodist Church – MHI or Singapore Association of the Deaf.

Feel free to drop me a note if we should continue with this deaf awareness campaign! (:

1 Cor 13: “If I speak in the tongues[a] of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,[b] but do not have love, I gain nothing.” 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

